Cashews – Friend or Foe?

I am feeling like I really shouldn’t keep cashews in my pantry. They are evil and make me eat uncontrollable portions at late night hours. This post comes to you upon starting AND finishing a little container of them at midnight. I am Jackie and I have no self control when it comes to cashews. Bad, bad me! So we all hear that nuts are good fats but in moderation right? I began to ponder just how bad my cashew binges are, so I did what any girl full of wonder does…Googled! Allow me to enlighten you with my cashew nutritional findings.

1. Despite much debate and several battling opinions, I believe the consensus is – cashews ARE paleo! Thanks p a l e o b l o c k s for clearing that up!

2. Cashews contain monounsaturated fat and oleic acid. Not only does this make them a heart healthy fat, but also oleic acid helps lower cholesterol.

3. These nuts are high in copper and magnesium. Benefits of copper and magnesium in your diet help rid your body of free radicals as well as aiding in your skin tone, hair, tissue and bone strength. Here’s some more detail on the benefits of these minerals in your diet.

4. If cashews are not properly shelled for consumption, they contain caustic resin which is highly potent to humans!

5. Eating cashew nuts can help satisfy hunger and promote weight loss. (Assuming you eat the suggested portion size?) A “large handful” of cashews provides 1,000 – 2,000 milligrams of the amino acid tryptophan. Tryptophan works like an antidepressant, giving you a mellow feeling. Maybe this is why I like to eat them at night, to relax!

6. Just a handful of cashews aid in digestion because of their high fiber content.

7. Dr. Oz lists cashews as one of his recommended, anti-cancer superfoods.

3 thoughts on “Cashews – Friend or Foe?

  1. thanks for this blog post! I too am addicted to cashews and can’t help myself from eating AT LEAST 2-3 servings probably which is like 500+ calories, eeek! haha at least it’s nice to know they are chock full of good things and it’s better than binging on fries or pizza !

Leave a Reply

