CrossFit. Craze or Crazy?

For the past 3-4 months I have been doing CrossFit. It began as another one of those activities that the boyfriend and I thought we could enjoy together. We go twice a week (and when I say we that is assuming the bf isn’t at a soccer game that night). I’m not going to sugar coat it…I sometimes think I might pass out or vomit, BUT that’s a good thing. Exercises and weightlifting I would have never tried on my own at the gym, I now do every week. Here’s some background on the trendy workout craze sweeping the nation-

CrossFit is all about strength training and conditioning. There are different Work Outs of the Day (“WOD”) each class. Each WOD is made up of a sets and reps performed in a certain order. You are always trying to improve your personal performance and time on the WOD. An example is the WOD named Cindy. Cindy consists of 5 pull ups, 10 push ups and 15 squats – as many rounds as possible (AMRAP) in 20 minutes. Doesn’t sound to awful…but don’t let Cindy fool you…she’s not easy! The WOD with names are considered Benchmarks. Normally you do only a few of these a month. Benchmark times are noted so that you can work on improving your effort the next time. The best thing about CrossFit is that literally anyone can do it. Every work out is scalable, and there’s always someone to help you or cheer you on.

Sound intriguing? If you are interested in learning more, check out this site: http://www.crossfit.com/cf-info/what-crossfit.html

I am kind of suprised I enjoy it so much. It’s not as intimidating as people think. There’s something addictive about CrossFit. Is it the people who sweat it out with you? Is it the awesome coaches? Or maybe its one of those “I drink the Koolade” mentalities that I have joined. Not sure, but people of all ages seem to enjoy the tough workouts. My stance on CrossFit would be to try it for yourself. Milestone CrossFit. Don’t knock it til ya try it! Check them out here: http://www.milestonecrossfit.com/

 

One thought on “CrossFit. Craze or Crazy?

Leave a Reply

